Project 1 Flier

Alicia-Hanley-InDesign-Flier

Description: This is a black and white flier for a graduate leadership conference.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): After sketching, I took my best sketch and recreated it in InDesign. I focused on alignment of the text with both the picture and the title. I wanted the eye to flow through the poster which I think I effectively did with the shape I created with the photo and title box.

Message: The message is to inform recent graduates of an upcoming conference that will enhance their leadership and professionalism.

Audience: The audience is graduating seniors who would like to learn more about leadership.

Top Thing Learned: I’ve used InDesign before, but it was my first time actually designing in InDesign. I learned a lot about using the shape tool to make frames for photos.

Title Font Name & Category: Stempel Garamound – Serif

Copy Font Name & Category: Akko Rounded – Sans Serif

Links to images used in this project:

  1. https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/JuliePeterson-Leadership-conference-business-rexburg-Idaho_7576-as-Smart-Object-11.jpg
  2. https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/VouantLogo2.png
4 thoughts on “Project 1 Flier

  1. Your flier is so clean cut, I love it! Great job on aligning your text with the triangles. It adds a sense of repetition as well as alignment. I also enjoy how you made the background grey. I kept mine white, wonder what changing the background would have done! Also, your choice of pictures is superb, this one flows so well with your overall design.
    Check out this flier from our class, I really enjoy the lines here. https://typecdesign.wordpress.com/2015/09/30/flier-project-1/

    Like

  2. Your flier has a good use of asymmetry with the diagonal window to your photo. I like that you aligned your text with the diagonal window. That brings the idea together. I would suggest more variation in the grey block behind everything. Right now, the continuous grey is a little monotonous. Maybe have the lower portion without the grey? Great idea though!

    Like

  3. Great job on your flier! I really liked how the flier makes the eye lead towards the title, and does it in a very appealing way. It also made it very focused on the image which is very clean cut around the words. The color scheme made the words that were the most important stand out, rather than fade in the background. I also liked the separation of the information text and the actual time and location of the conference. This makes it easier for a reader to find the important information faster. Again, great job!

    You might want to check out:

    https://meganhendrickson.wordpress.com/2015/10/04/project-1-flier/#comment-21

    Like

Leave a Reply

